NERO Atlanta

December 16, 2017, 07:35:27 PM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?


NERO Atlanta » Forum » Out of Game Whatnot » Rules and Policies (Moderator: Knight of Evendarr) » Maximum armor

Author Topic: Maximum armor  (Read 225 times)

Offline Aku

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Maximum armor
« on: July 19, 2017, 04:10:41 PM »
What's the highest possible armor attainable by a PC with standard NERO effects?

Dex/arcane/armor + wear extra = 40
Shield + Eldritch shield = 15

So is 55 the max? Is there another source of armor?

Offline Josh Harden

  • Journeyman
  • *
  • Posts: 147
  • "Eat me if you can!"
Re: Maximum armor
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2017, 05:50:44 PM »
From pg. 105-106 of the rule book.

Costume Bonus: Any player will be awarded five wear points
simply for being fully in costume with their entire visible costume
fully fitting with the in game atmosphere see “Costumes” on page 121.

A marshal must be consulted to see if your costume warrants
the bonus. You should do this at every chapter you go to as some
chapters have different criteria to make this decision.

The maximum Wear total a player can have is 40 (45 with good
costuming), no effect can augment this bonus higher by any means.
Armor points granted by the spell “Shield” are considered Armor
but do not count toward your Wear Point total.

Example, Mandrake the scholar has 10 base wear points, he purchases
Wear extra armor and now has 15 wear points. His costume is
reviewed by a marshal and is given the 5 wear points for costuming.
So he can now wear up to 20 Armor points.

So 40 + 5 + 15 = 60

I have heard of special armor that "counts as X armor points against your wear total, but wears as 2X for your actual Armor points". ie. 20 wears as 40, etc.
Owl de Danaan
Sharku Cirith
Marenthan

Offline keatonic

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Maximum armor
« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2017, 09:31:04 AM »
EDIT: http://neroatlanta.net/index.php?topic=20454.msg89354#msg89354
=================
Original post below:

I've always heard and seen 45 used as the max. 

As far as I know your actual armor stacks with arcane armor and/or cantrips up to your maximum wear points.

Pg 105: You can not use more armor points than your character can wear.

Pg 106: Armor points granted by the spell “Shield” are considered Armor but do not count toward your Wear Point total.

To me, the note on Pg 106 just says that Shield and Eldritch Shield count as armor, but don't add to your wear total. So they can't put you over 40 (or 45 with good costuming)

It's also important to remember that the 5 point costuming bonus is not free armor points, it's the ability to wear more armor.

You can also make Enhanced Armor in game, which makes all locations count for 1 additional point of armor (so that a sleeveless chainmail shirt will give you 7+7=14 instead of 6+6=12)

Offline Tyrangel Plot

  • Journeyman
  • *
  • Posts: 137
Re: Maximum armor
« Reply #3 on: July 20, 2017, 12:04:30 PM »
Ben, as our local rules guy, can you chime in?
This Message brought to you by The Silverhand Message  Service.

Offline Atlanta GM

  • Adventurer
  • **
  • Posts: 264
Re: Maximum armor
« Reply #4 on: July 20, 2017, 09:07:33 PM »

   The above posts are Correct

 Thanks Josh and Keatonic

Offline Aku

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Maximum armor
« Reply #5 on: July 21, 2017, 01:28:04 AM »
Wait, which one is correct? One said 45 and one said 60.

Offline Atlanta GM

  • Adventurer
  • **
  • Posts: 264
Re: Maximum armor
« Reply #6 on: July 21, 2017, 09:57:39 AM »
 The spell or cantrip abilities DO NOT count against you wear armor  total so

 So 40 + 5 + 15 = 60 is correct

 I missed this line and it is not correct  my mistake.
"So they can't put you over 40 (or 45 with good costuming)" 


 so to reiterate
 max for Class and skill is 40
 good costume can add 5
 Spells can add  15 
 

Offline Josh Harden

  • Journeyman
  • *
  • Posts: 147
  • "Eat me if you can!"
Re: Maximum armor
« Reply #7 on: July 21, 2017, 02:08:04 PM »
After reading keatonics post I can see where it can be read as the opposite of what I understood as well. As it reads "does not count toward your wear point total" I can see 3 possible interpretations.

1.) It does not add to your wear point total allowing you to rep/buy more than 45 points of armor.

2.) Shield counts as armor points the same way arcane armor, dex armor, and physical armor does and cannot increase your total over 45.

3.) Shield works like armor points (i.e. Doesn't count as body damage, by passed by spells, etc.) but as a spell stacks on top of your max armor points.

I've always understood it to mean the 3rd but the citations made by keatonic makes me think that regardless of intent the rules actually read as the 1st.

This might be worth a suggested edit/addendum in later editions.
Owl de Danaan
Sharku Cirith
Marenthan

Offline keatonic

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Maximum armor
« Reply #8 on: July 21, 2017, 02:48:44 PM »
I asked about this on the chapter owner's rules group.  The official call is:

Quote
You can have up to 45 pts of armor from a combination of physical, dex, arcane and/or enhanced armor. Assuming you purchased the appropriate amount of wear extra armor.

You can also have a shield and eldritch shield up which count as armor points for the purposes of tracking damage like chaos spells and when they are lost after taking damage. These do not count against the above points up for the total amount of armor you can "wear."

Looks like I was incorrect when saying 45 was the hard max.

 

Powered by EzPortal